CR seals

CR stands for chloroprene rubber, a synthetic rubber and belongs to the elastomers of the R group, which are characterised by an unsaturated hydrocarbon chain. Probably the best-known trade name is Neoprene® In addition, the material is also traded as Baypren®.

CR Gasket

Available CR materials at Rehm Dichtungen Ehlers GmbH

We obtain most of our sealing material from the manufacturer Semperit in the form of rolls and sheets. Here we divide the material qualities into three ranges that are suitable for different applications.

Semperit quality

N9581 CR/SBR

Technical data sheet:

N9581 CR/SBR

Properties:

Hardness [Shore A] ISO 7619-1 65 +-5
Density [g/cm³] ISO 1183 Approx. 1.40
Tensile strength [N/mm²] ISO 37-S2 6
Elongation at break [%] ISO 37-S2 200

 

Approvals and certifications:

  • Corresponds to WDK guideline 2201
  • SVHC-free

Import qualities

CR/SBR 65 Shore

Technical data sheet:

CR/SBR 65 Shore

Properties:

Hardness [Shore A] ISO 7619-1 65 +-10
Density [g/cm³] ISO 1183 Approx. 1.4
Tensile strength [N/mm²] ISO 37-S2 4
Elongation at break [%] ISO 37-S2 250
CR/SBR 65 Shore with insert

Technical data sheet:

CR/SBR 65 Shore with insert

Properties:

Hardness [Shore A] ISO 7619-1 65 +-10
Density [g/cm³] ISO 1183 Approx. 1.4
Tensile strength [N/mm²] ISO 37-S2 4
Elongation at break [%] ISO 37-S2 250
CR/SBR light 65 Shore

Technical data sheet:

CR/SBR light 65 Shore

Properties:

Hardness [Shore A] ISO 7619-1 65 +-10
Density [g/cm³] ISO 1183 Approx. 1.5
Tensile strength [N/mm²] ISO 37-S2 5
Elongation at break [%] ISO 37-S2 300

The properties of CR as a sealing material

Chloroprene is produced by polymerising 2-chloro-1,3-butadiene. During the process, acid is added to the resulting dispersion, which is then cooled and dried.

The chlorine atoms in the material are inert, which makes the rubber stable. Furthermore, the vulcanised chloroprene has good mechanical and chemical properties. The material is resistant to embrittlement, ozone and weathering. The synthetic rubber shows good swelling resistance in mineral oils with an aniline point, in greases, many refrigerants and in water. CR is moderately resistant to swelling in mineral oils and low-molecular aliphatic hydrocarbons. In aromatics, the material is strongly swelling. Chloroprene is temperature-resistant in the temperature range -20° C and +120° C. The concrete specifications vary depending on the composition of the compound.

The advantages of CR at a glance

Chloroprene is characterised by a number of properties that make the material suitable for many applications. It is:

  • Resistant to: Embrittlement, ozone and weathering influences
  • Good swelling resistance to: mineral, vegetable and animal fats as well as mineral oils with a high aniline point, many refrigerants and water
  • strongly swelling in: Aromatics such as benzene, esters, ketones and chlorinated hydrocarbons.
  • Resistant to: dilute acids and salt solutions
  • flame-retardant

Furthermore, the elastomer has very good dynamic properties. The electrical insulating properties of polychloroprene are worse than those of NR, which is due to the polarity. Certain fillers increase the insulating properties. CR can therefore be used in the low-voltage range.

The sealing material cannot be cross-linked with sulphur, has only limited oil resistance and is not resistant to fuels or aromatic oils.

CR Resilience at a glance

Material designationOzone and weather resistanceOil and petrol resistanceAcid resistanceStrong basesWear resistance
Semperit N 9581conditionally stablenot durableconditionally stableconditionally stableNot suitable

Areas of application for CR seals

The material is used in various areas. Due to its slow crystallisation, CR is particularly used for seals in the automotive and other industries. Various seals made of this material are also used in air conditioning and medical technology. The shipping industry is also an important customer for this material, as it does not lose its function when it comes into contact with seawater.

We will be happy to answer your questions about whether CR is suitable as a sealing material for your purposes. Please contact our customer service, who will be happy to provide you with comprehensive advice.

FAQ

What are CR seals?
CR seals, which stand for chloroprene rubber, can be classified as elastomer seals and are characterised by an unsaturated hydrocarbon chain. CR SBR is also known under the trade name Neoprene® or the material Baypren®.
What are the properties of CR seals?
Due to the chlorine atoms present in the sealing material, CR is stable and, thanks to the vulcanised chloroprene, is characterised by good mechanical and chemical properties. In addition, the material is resistant to embossing, ozone and weathering as well as to dilute acids and salt solutions. Due to the increased insulating properties, CR can also be used in the low-voltage range. In addition, the material is considered flame-retardant.
What durability do CR seals offer?
CR gaskets are conditionally resistant to ozone and weathering influences as well as to acids and strong bases. Furthermore, seals made of CR have good swelling resistance to mineral, vegetable and animal fats.
Can CR seals also be equipped with self-adhesive?
CR gaskets can be equipped with a basic self-adhesive finish. In the first production step, the roll or sheet material is glued with a self-adhesive film in order to subsequently produce your self-adhesive CR seals.
Can CR also be purchased by the metre?
We use all our gasket materials to produce the right gaskets for you using our various manufacturing processes - waterjet cutting, plotting, punching. However, we are also happy to sell you CR by the metre, in strips or in the form of rolls and sheets.

CR-Dichtungen

CR steht für Chloropren-Kautschuk, einen synthetischen Kautschuk und zählt zu den Elastomeren der R-Gruppe, die sich durch eine ungesättigte Kohlenwasserstoffkette auszeichnen. Der wohl bekannteste Handelsname ist Neopren® Zudem wird der Werkstoff auch als Baypren® gehandelt.

CR Dichtung

Verfügbare CR-Materialien bei der Rehm Dichtungen Ehlers GmbH

Das Dichtungsmaterial beziehen wir überwiegend vom Hersteller Semperit in Form von Rollen- und Plattenware. Hier teilen wir die Materialqualitäten in drei Bereiche auf, die für unterschiedliche Anwendungen geeignet sind.

Semperitqualität

N9581 CR/SBR

Technisches Datenblatt:

N9581 CR/SBR

Eigenschaften:

Härte [Shore A] ISO 7619-1 65 +-5
Dichte [g/cm³] ISO 1183 Ca. 1,40
Reißfestigkeit [N/mm²] ISO 37-S2 6
Reißdehnung [%] ISO 37-S2 200

 

Zulassungen und Zertifizierungen:

  • entspricht WDK-Leitlinie 2201
  • SVHC-frei

Importqualitäten

CR/SBR 65 Shore

Technisches Datenblatt:

CR/SBR 65 Shore

Eigenschaften:

Härte [Shore A] ISO 7619-1 65 +-10
Dichte [g/cm³] ISO 1183 Ca. 1,4
Reißfestigkeit [N/mm²] ISO 37-S2 4
Reißdehnung [%] ISO 37-S2 250

CR/SBR 65 Shore mit Einlage

Technisches Datenblatt:

CR/SBR 65 Shore mit Einlage

Eigenschaften:

Härte [Shore A] ISO 7619-1 65 +-10
Dichte [g/cm³] ISO 1183 Ca. 1,4
Reißfestigkeit [N/mm²] ISO 37-S2 4
Reißdehnung [%] ISO 37-S2 250

CR/SBR hell 65 Shore

Technisches Datenblatt:

CR/SBR hell 65 Shore

Eigenschaften:

Härte [Shore A] ISO 7619-1 65 +-10
Dichte [g/cm³] ISO 1183 Ca. 1,5
Reißfestigkeit [N/mm²] ISO 37-S2 5
Reißdehnung [%] ISO 37-S2 300

Die Eigenschaften von CR als Dichtungsmaterial

Hergestellt wird Chloropren durch die Polymerisation von 2-Chlor-1,3-Butadien. Im Laufe des Verfahrens wird der entstandenen Dispersion Säure zugegeben, anschließend gekühlt und getrocknet.

Die Chloratome im Material sind reaktionsträge, was den Kautschuk stabil macht. Weiterhin weist das vulkanisierte Chloropren gute mechanische sowie chemische Eigenschaften auf. Das Material ist widerstandsfähig gegen Versprödung, gegen Ozon und Witterungseinflüsse. Eine gute Quellbeständigkeit zeigt der Synthesekautschuk in Mineralölen mit Anilinpunkt, in Fetten, vielen Kältemitteln sowie in Wasser. In Mineralölen und niedermolekularen aliphatischen Kohlenwasserstoffen ist CR mittel-quellbeständig. In Aromaten ist der Werkstoff stark quellend. Chloropren ist im Temperaturbereich -20° C und +120° C temperaturbeständig. Abhängig vom Mischungsaufbau variieren die konkreten Spezifikationen.

Die Vorteile von CR auf einen Blick

Chloropren zeichnet sich durch eine Reihe an Eigenschaften aus, dank derer das Material für viele Anwendungsgebiete geeignet ist. Es ist:

  • widerstandsfähig gegen: Versprödung, Ozon und Witterungseinflüsse
  • gut quellbeständig gegenüber: mineralischen, pflanzlichen und tierischen Fetten sowie Mineralölen mit hohem Anilinpunkt, vielen Kältemitteln und Wasser
  • stark quellend in: Aromaten wie Benzol, Estern, Ketonen und chlorierten Kohlenwasserstoffen
  • beständig gegen: verdünnte Säuren und Salzlösungen
  • flammwidrig

Weiterhin hat das Elastomer sehr gute dynamische Eigenschaften. Die elektrischen Isoliereigenschaften von Polychloropren sind schlechter als bei NR, was durch die Polarität bedingt ist. Bestimmte Füllstoffe erhöhen die Isoliereigenschaften. CR ist dadurch im Niederspannungsbereich verwendbar.

Das Dichtungsmaterial ist nicht schwefelvernetzbar, zudem nur begrenzt ölbeständig und nicht beständig gegen Kraftstoffe sowie aromatische Öle.

 

CR Beständigkeiten im Überblick

Materialbezeichnung Ozon- und Witterungsbeständigkeit Öl- und Benzinbeständigkeit Säurebeständigkeit Starke Basen Verschleißfestigkeit
Semperit N 9581 bedingt beständig nicht beständig bedingt beständig bedingt beständig nicht geeignet

Anwendungsgebiete von CR Dichtungen

Das Material findet in verschiedenen Bereichen Anwendung. Aufgrund der langsamen Kristallisation wird CR besonders in der Automobil- und anderen Industriebranchen für Dichtungen verwendet. Auch in der Klima- und der Medizintechnik werden verschiedene Dichtungen aus diesem Werkstoff eingesetzt. Die Schifffahrt gilt ebenfalls als wichtiger Abnehmer dieses Materials, da es keine Funktionseinbußen beim Kontakt mit Meerwasser zeigt.

Ob CR als Dichtungsmaterial auch für Ihre Zwecke geeignet ist, beantworten wir Ihnen gern. Kontaktieren Sie dazu unseren Kundenservice, der Sie umfassend berät.

FAQ

1. Was sind CR-Dichtungen?

CR Dichtungen, die für Chloropren-Kautschuk stehen, lassen sich den Elastomerdichtungen zuordnen und zeichnen sich durch eine ungesättigte Kohlenwasserstoffkette aus. CR SBR ist auch bekannt unter dem Handelsnamen Neopren® oder dem Werkstoff Baypren®.

2. Welche Eigenschaften weisen CR Dichtungen auf?

Durch die im Dichtungsmaterial vorhandenen Chloratome ist CR stabil und zeichnet sich, dank des vulkanisierten Chloroprens, durch gute mechanische und chemische Eigenschaften aus. Darüber hinaus ist der Werkstoff widerstandsfähig gegen Versprägung, Ozon und Witterungseinflüsse sowie beständig in Bezug auf verdünnte Säuren und Salzlösungen. Durch die erhöhten Isoliereigenschaften ist CR auch im Niederspannungsbereich einsetzbar. Darüber hinaus ist der Werkstoff als flammwidrig  anzusehen.

3. Welche Beständigkeit bieten CR-Dichtungen?

CR-Dichtungen sind bedingt beständig gegenüber Ozon- und Witterungseinflüsse sowie gegenüber Säuren und starken Basen. Weiterhin sind Dichtungen aus CR gut quellbeständig gegenüber mineralischen, pflanzlichen und tierischen Fetten. 

4. Können CR Dichtungen auch selbstklebend ausgestattet werden?

CR-Dichtungen können grundlegend selbstklebend ausgestattet werden. Dazu wird im ersten Fertigungsschritt die Rollen- bzw. Plattenware mit einer Selbstklebefolie verklebt, um im Anschluss Ihre selbstklebenden CR Dichtungen herzustellen. 

5. Kann CR auch als Meterware bezogen werden?

All unsere Dichtungsmaterialien verwenden wir grundsätzlich dazu, um Ihnen die passenden Dichtungen mithilfe unserer verschiedener Fertigungsverfahren – Wasserstrahl schneiden, Plotten, Stanzen – zu fertigen. Gerne verkaufen wir Ihnen CR aber auch als Meterware, Streifen oder in Form von Rollen- und Plattenware.